Driver's License Suspension
Suspension of an Ohio Driver's License is an enforcement tool designed to bring obligors who are in legal default on their child support orders back into compliance.
The program works as follows: Prior to license suspension, the agency will mail a Default Notice to obligors who are more than 30 days behind on their payments. This notice will alert them to the potential for a driver's license suspension, or any of the other enforcement techniques authorized by Ohio law. The obligor may request a due process hearing (a Mistake of Fact hearing) within fourteen (14) days from the date the Notice of Default is issued.
Before the CSEA can notify the BMV to suspend a license, the person paying support must have failed to pay at least 50 percent of their total monthly support obligation for a period of 90 consecutive days. Tax intercept payments do not count toward the 50 percent requirement. If a case qualifies, the CSEA will mail a notice of its intent to suspend the license to the last known address of the obligor. If the obligor fails to contact the agency in response to the notice, the license can be suspended on the date specified in the notice.
The actual suspension of an Ohio driver's license is accomplished through an electronic interface between the SETS system and the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles. Once the CSEA support officer enters the suspension, the BMV will:
- Suspend any license currently held by the obligor.
- Refuse to renew or issue any driver's license to the obligor.
- Refuse to reinstate any license until notified by the CSEA.
Obligors whose driver's licenses have been suspended by the CSEA can have their license reinstated when one of the following events occurs:
- The obligor is no longer in default.
- Pay the arrears balance in full; if this is not possible,
- Present evidence of employment or an account at a financial institution so a withholding order may be issued. The CSEA must be able to confirm the employment or the account is valid; if these options are not possible then,
- Present evidence acceptable to the CSEA that the obligor is unable to work due to circumstances beyond their control; if these options are not possible then,
- Comply with a seek work program as established by a court or a family support program administered or approved by the CSEA; if this is not possible then,
- Pay the full balance of the total monthly obligation due for the 90-day period prior to the date the agency sent the pre-suspension notice.
Contact the CSEA to discuss arrangements for releasing a driver's license suspension. After a suspension has been released by the CSEA, individuals must visit the BMV to complete the driver's license reinstatement process.
The BMV charges a $25.00 reinstatement fee at the regional service center office located at 1583 Alum Creek Drive in Columbus. Reinstatement at a deputy registrar's office is also possible upon payment of an additional $10.00 service fee ($25.00 plus $10.00). For more information about the BMV fees, go to https://www.bmv.ohio.gov/susp-fees-payment.aspx .