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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS ABOUT TAX OFFSET

WHAT IS THE CRITERIA TO HAVE A FEDERAL TAX
REFUND INTERCEPTED?

Franklin County
Child Support Enforcement Agency

WHAT IS TAX
OFFSET?

Tax Offset Program
an  enforcement
que that allows for

parent’s tax
to help repay child
rt debt.

tive October 1,

the law was
ded to allow Federal
e Tax Refunds to be
for past due support

to any child
less of their age.
0 this change in the
ederal Tax Refunds
only intercepted and
0 the family if the
included a child
the age of 18. Due
5 change in the law,
has seen nearly a
increase in the
t of child support
s now eligible for tax

ently, Ohio collects
erage 89 million
5 each year from
al Tax Refunds.
imately 12 million

each year is
ed from the
eption of State Tax
ds. It is estimated
)hio may see up to
dditional 5 million
rs in refunds
ant to the change in

ific criteria must be
t in order for a case
ligible for tax offset.

1. An application for services
must be on file with the
CSEA.

2. If the non-residential parent
(or spouse) filed for
bankruptcy before
10/17/05, the case is not
eligible for tax offset. Filings
after 10/17/05 are eligible
pursuant to Congress’
passage of the Bankruptcy

A case can become eligible for
Federal Tax Offset at any time
during the year and it is also
possible that a case could be
deleted or the offset amount
modified during any time of the
Once a case is eligible, a
Pre-Offset Notice is sent to the

year.

Non-Residential Parent. You will
have an opportunity to request a

Abuse Prevention Consumer
Protection Act of 2005.

3. A minimum of $500 in
unassigned arrears (arrears
owed to the family) or $150
in assigned arrears (arrears
owed to the State of Ohio)
must be owed to be eligible
for offset. (If the non-
residential parent has more
than one case, all arrears

Tax Offset the
submitting child support agency if
you disagree with the information
contained in your notice.

Review with

If the arrearage amount
remains eligible for the tax offset
program 30 days after the initial
submission, the tax refund then
becomes eligible for offset.

WHAT IF MY TAX REFUND IS MORE
SUPPORT ARREARS?

If the refund amount is greater
than the arrears, the
residential parent will receive the
difference, provided there are no
other debts that are eligible for
federal or state tax offset.

non-

Because regular updates are

submitted to the IRS and Ohio
Department of Taxation, only the
amount of the arrears should be
sent to the CSEA. (If you pay the
child support arrears off yourself
to prevent from having your
refund intercepted, it is

combined must meet the
minimum submittal amount).

4. If Ohio is the “Responding”
state in an Interstate action,

only the “Initiating” state
may submit for Federal Tax
Offset.

5. The case must be delinquent
for 30 days or longer after
the submission to be eligible
for an offset of the refund.

HOW WILL | KNOW IF MY FEDERAL TAX REFUND IS
BEING INTERCEPTED TO PAY MY ARREARS?

The non-residential parent will
also receive notification from the
IRS when the actual offset of the
refund occurs which will indicate
a specific dollar amount that is
being forwarded to the county
child support agency for a child
support debt. At this point, there
is no objection/dispute process.

THAN MY CHILD

recommended you wait at least 3
weeks to file your tax return from
the date the payment was made
to avoid having your refund
erroneously taken).

AS A RESIDENTIAL PARENT, HOW WILL | KNOW IF I
AM GOING TO RECEIVE THE OTHER PARTY’S TAX

REFUND?

If your case meets the criteria
listed above, the case will
automatically be submitted.
There is no official notification
mailed to the residential parent
notifying them a tax offset will

occur or when a tax offset is
received. You may contact your
county CSEA for specific
questions or
refunds.

inquires on tax
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MY SPOUSE AND I FILE A JOINT TAX RETURN.

HOW CAN | PREVENT MY SPOUSE’S PORTION OF
THE TAX REFUND FROM BEING INTERCEPTED TO

PAY MY CHILD SUPPORT DEBT?

The current spouse will want
to complete and file IRS Form

8379 (Injured Spouse
Allocation) with your actual tax
return.  The IRS gives the

WHAT IS THE CRITERIA TO HAVE A STATE INCOME

current spouse up to 6 months
to file a claim for injured
spouse if it is not filed with the
initial tax return.

The Ohio Department of

TAX REFUND INTERCEPTED?

1. If the non-residential parent
(or spouse) filed for bankruptcy
before 10/17/05, the case is not
eligible for tax offset. Filings
after 10/17/05 are eligible
pursuant to Congress’ passage
of the Bankruptcy Abuse
Prevention Consumer Protection

HOW WILL I KNOW IF MY STATE TAX

Act of 2005.

2. A minimum of $150 (either
owed to the family or the State of
Ohio) must be owed to be eligible
for offset. (If the non-residential
parent has more than one case,
all arrears combined must meet

BEING INTERCEPTED?

Submission of eligible cases is
made annually (typically near the
end of September) to the Ohio
Department of Taxation. If a
case does not meet the
minimum requirements at the
time of the initial submittal, the
case will not qualify for State Tax
Offset that year. Weekly

HOW SOON WILL | RECEIVE THE OTHER PARTY’S

updates are generated to ODT for
those cases initially submitted
advising of cases eligible for
deletions or decreasing arrears
amounts only.

A Notice of Ohio Income Tax
Refund Offset for Overdue
Support is sent to the non-

FEDERAL TAX REFUND?

The Office of Child Support
(Columbus, OH) receives
collections from the IRS on a bi-
weekly basis. This collection may
contain tax refund intercept
amounts for hundreds of child
support cases throughout the
State.

Once a collection is received, it
takes approximately 30—45 days
to complete the processing and
post the payments to child
support cases.

Federal Tax Refunds are used
to pay child support arrears only.
No money will be collected and

Taxation
spouse up to 21 days to file a
claim for injured spouse if it is
not filed with the actual tax
return.

gives the current

the minimum submittal amount)

3. The case must remain
eligible for at least 90 days after
a Notice is sent to the non-
residential parent advising him/
her that the case meets the
minimum criteria.

REFUND IS

residential parent. This notice
provides instructions on how to
request a Tax Offset Review if
you want to dispute the offset. If
no deletion has occurred due to
the case no longer being eligible
for State Tax Offset 90 days after
the initial submission, the tax
refund is then eligible for offset.

allocated towards current child
support. Arrears owed to the
State of Ohio will be paid before
arrears owed to the family. In
addition, if the tax intercept was
received from a Joint Tax Return,
monies are automatically held for
six months from the date of
processing.

HOW SOON WILL | RECEIVE THE OTHER PARTY’S
STATE TAX REFUND?

The Office of Child Support
(Columbus, OH) receives
collections from the Ohio
Department of Taxation (ODT)
daily during tax season and
weekly during non-tax season.

Once a collection is received, it
takes approximately 30—45 days
to complete the processing and
post the payments to child
support cases.

State Tax Refunds will be

allocated to current support first,
then will allocate to child support
arrears. Monies are paid to either
the family or the State depending
on whether child support is
assigned or unassigned at the
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time the payment is allocated.
If the tax intercept was from a
Joint Tax Return, the payment
should be disbursed within
two business days from date
of processing.



