
I N C O M E  P R O V I D E R S  A R E  K E Y  T O  T H E  S U C C E S S  
O F  C H I L D  S U P P O R T  C O L L E C T I O N S !  

W H A T  E V E R Y  E M P L O Y E R  O R  I N C O M E  P R O V I D E R  N E E D S  T O  K N O W  

 

Deducting child support  from 
an employee’s income 

  Income providers  are  
responsible to begin deducting 
child support immediately (but 
no later than the first pay 
period occurring 14 business 
days after the date of the 
Notice) upon receipt of a 
Notice of Income Withholding, 
known as JFS 04047 

  Employers are to withhold 
and remit funds for child 
support immediately (but no 
later than 7 business days 
from the date that it is 
withheld).   

 
What are my  New Hire 
Reporting responsibilities? 

Effective October 1, 1997, all 
Ohio Employers (both public 
and private) are required by 
law to report all newly hired, 
rehired or returning employees 
to the State of Ohio within 20 
days of their start date.  No 
employer is exempt from this 
law! 

  Not only is New Hire 
Reporting the law, it is also a 
valuable tool to the child 
support agencies in locating 
alleged fathers and absent 
parents to assist in paternity 
and support establishment, 
not to mention the benefit of 
collecting support for the 
children who deserve it. 

  There are several ways in 
which employers can comply 
with their new hire reporting 
responsibilities.  For more 
information, visit the New Hire 
Reporting website at: 

www.newhirereporting.com  

B A S I C  I N C O M E     
W I T H H O L D I N G        

R E S P O N S I B L I T I E S  

H O W  M U C H  C H I L D  S U P P O R T  C A N  B E  W I T H H E L D  
U N D E R  L A W ?  

  Employers  and  income 
providers are important 
stakeholders for the child 
support program and help 
ensure the financial stability for 
many children and families.  
Income providers must also 
comply with notices to withhold  
child support.  About 70% of all 
child support payments are 
made through an income 
withholding in the state of Ohio.   

  Program officials appreciate 

the work conducted by 

e m p l o y er s  a nd  i n c o me 

providers.   Most county 

agencies will conduct an in-

service for payroll professionals 

or for employees of an 

organization, tailoring the 

outreach to the needs of the 

employer requesting the 

p r e s e n t a t i o n .  C o n t a c t 

information for the Franklin 

County CSEA can be found at 

www.franklincountyohio.gov/   

commissioners/csea/  

  We appreciate the support and 
collaboration from all employers 
and income providers in helping 
ensure the quality of the lives of 
children are improved through 
the financial support from both 
parents.   

W H A T  K I N D S  O F  P A Y M E N T S  A R E  C O N S I D E R E D  
L U M P  S U M  P A Y M E N T S ?  
  An employer is liable to report 

t o  t h e  C h i l d  S u p p o r t 

Enforcement Agency that issued 

t h e  No t i c e  o f  Inc om e 

Withholding any lump sum 

amount over $150.00.  The 

Agency should receive notice of 

this lump sum payment at least 

45 days prior to it being 

disbursed.  

  A lump sum payment is any 

income other than personal 

earnings that the employee may 

be entitled to.  Examples are;  

bonus pays, commissions, 

severance pay, vacation pay*, 

sick leave*, etc. 

*vacation and sick pay – this 

pertains only to the “cash-out” 

of a vacation pay – when an 

employee opts to receive 

vacation or sick pay in lieu of 

taking actual vacation, sick time 

or leave. 

  The amount to be withheld for 

child support may not exceed 

the following parameters:  (The 

Notice of Income Withholding  

provides information on this 

Federal Regulation – The 

Consumer Credit Protection Act, 

CCPA) 

  Of the employees aggregate 

disposable weekly earnings 

(income left after making 

mandatory deductions such as:  

State, Federal, Local Taxes, 

Medicare etc.) – you cannot 

withhold more than: 

• 50% if he/she is supporting 

another spouse, dependent 

child or both, other than the 

party specified on the 

Withholding Notice.  

• 60% if he/she is not 

supporting someone else.   

• An additional 5% shall be 

withheld above the maximum 

amount permitted if the 

Obligor is twelve (12) or more 

weeks in arrears.  Your 

Income Withholding Order 

will specify this.   

• No more than 50% of the 

O b l i g o r ’ s  w e e k l y 

unemployment benefits may 

be deducted.   

INCOME PROVIDER 
INFORMATION SHEET 

Franklin  County 
Child Support Enforcement Agency 



P R I O R I T Y  O F  C H I L D  S U P P O R T  W I T H H O L D I N G S  

Where can I get more 
information about this 
fact sheet? 

• Contact information for 
all Ohio CSEAs can be 
found at http://
jfs.ohio.gov/county/
cntydir.stm   

• You can also visit the 
ODJFS website for 
Employer Newsletters:  
http://jfs.ohio.gov/
Ocs/employers.   

• You can call CSPC at 
1.888.965.2676  
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T E L L  M E  M O R E  A B O U T  E X P E R T P A Y  

   ExpertPay is a way for Ohio 

employers or income providers 

to  submi t  w i thhold i ngs 

electronically.  It features a 

secure website that allows 

employers to create and 

maintain an employer profile, 

enter employee data, submit 

withholding lists, and authorize 

electronic withdrawals of child 

support withholdings from the 

employer’s or income provider’s 

bank account.  It is a simple, 

streamlined way to meet child 

s u p p o r t  w i t h h o l d i n g 

responsibilities. 

  Employers or income providers 

who have used ExpertPay report 

an increase in accuracy while 

decreasing paperwork, postage 

costs, and mail time.  Fraud and 

theft concerns are also 

reduced.  Employers or income 

providers can use ExpertPay to 

remit to all 50 states – but 

there could be a fee assessed 

for payments sent to states 

other than Ohio. 

  For more information, go to 

www.expertpay.com. You should 

call CSPC at 1.888.965.2676 

before you make your first 

payment electronically. 

C A N  A N  E M P L O Y E R  O R  I N C O M E  P R O V I D E R  
T R A N S F E R  F U N D S  E L E C T R O N I C A L L Y ?  

   YES!  Using Electronic Funds 

Transfer, or EFT, for child 

support, an employer or income 

provider can transfer child 

support withholdings directly to 

the financial institution of the 

Child Support Payment Central, 

CSPC.  This is done through an 

Automated Clearing House, or 

ACH, which is a government-

r e g u l a t e d  f a c i l i t y  t h a t 

c o o r d i n a t e s  e l e c t r o n i c 

transactions.  There are 

different types of EFT. One type 

uses the Web. It is known as 

ExpertPay. 

H O W  D O  I  D E T E R M I N E  H O W  M U C H  I S  T O  B E  A P P L I E D  
T O  E A C H  C A S E  I F  T H E  E M P L O Y E E  H A S  M O R E  T H A N  
O N E  S U P P O R T  O R D E R ?  

   As an employer, you must honor 

all Income Withholding Notices but 

may be unable to comply with the 

entire amount ordered to be 

withheld based on the Consumer 

Credit Protection Act (CCPA) 

Guidelines.  (Refer to ORC 

3121.034 and the Federal 

Consumer Credit Protection Act (15 

U.S.C. 1673(b)). 

   A Multi-Order Calculator is now 

available for employers.  This 

calculator will determine the 

maximum amount of support to be 

applied to each of an employee’s 

order taking into consideration the 

C C P A  G u i d e l i n e s .   T o 

view/download this Calculator; go 

to: www.ocda.us and click on the  

Calculator page to access the 

Multi-Order Calculator. 

tax levy should notify the IRS if 
they receive a child support 
order.  In some cases, the IRS 
will yield priority to the child 
support order. 

   Ch i l d  Su ppor t  Inc ome 
Withholding Notices must be 
honored even if an employee 
declares bankruptcy.  Child 

   A child support income-
withholding order must be paid 
before all other garnishments 
except a federal tax levy (but 
only when the tax levy was 
served before the child support 
order was issued). 

   E m p l o y e r s  w h o  a r e 
withholding income to satisfy a 

S u p p o r t  d e b t  i s  n o t 
dischargeable in bankruptcy 
actions. 

   I f  an  em pl oy ee  f i l e s 
bankruptcy, employers are still 
o b l i g a t e d  t o  c o n t i n u e 
withholding child support 
payments and remit them to 
Ohio CSPC.  In some instances, 

child support payments may be 
taken over by the trustee of the 
bankruptcy court, however, an 
employer  must  cont inue 
withholding unless notice is 
received by the agency or the 
bankruptcy court stating 
otherwise. 
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