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Sealing a Criminal Record in Franklin County 

REENTRY 

 Expungement: What is it? 

 “Expungement” is actually a misused term for “criminal record sealing”— a process that   allows 

“eligible offenders” to apply to have their records sealed. Sealing a   record means that your criminal           

conviction will be cleared and your record sealed from the public. However, law    enforcement agencies, 

prosecutors, and   other agencies can look at your sealed  record;  if you commit another crime, your sealed 

record can still be used against you in sentencing. 

 

 Why should I get my record sealed? 

 When you apply for some jobs, apartments, and licenses, the people reviewing your application 

might look at your criminal record. If you have a conviction on your record, it can decrease your chances 

of getting the job, apartment, or license.  

 

 Who is an “Eligible Offender”? 

 Anyone who has been convicted of an offense in Ohio or any other state who has (1) not more than one 

felony conviction, (2) not more than two misdemeanor convictions if the convictions are not from the 

same offense, OR (3) not more than one felony conviction and one misdemeanor conviction.  

 When two or more convictions result from or are connected with the same act or result from actions com-

mitted at the same time, they count as one conviction.  

 90 Day Rule: When two or three convictions result from the same indictment, information, complaint, 

guilty plea, or official proceeding and are the result of related criminal acts committed within a 90 day pe-

riod, they are counted as one conviction. 

 

S
e
a
lin

g
 a

 C
rim

in
a
l R

e
c
o
rd

 in
 F

ra
n
k
lin

 C
o
u
n
ty

 

Which Offenses Cannot Be Sealed? 
 

 Those involving a mandatory prison term. 

 Any first or second degree felony.  

 Any sex offenses. 

 Any violent offenses that are either felonies or 
first-degree misdemeanors. 

 Any offense where the victim was under 18 
years old (except criminal non-support cases) 

 DUI convictions.  

How Soon Can I Apply? 

 For Misdemeanor Offenses: one year from 

final discharge* 

 For Felony Offenses: three years from final 

discharge* 

* “Final Discharge” means after you have complet-

ed any sentence, including probation, or community 

control and have paid all outstanding fines.  
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Self-Help Instructions: Prefer to try on your own?  

 Obtain an expungement form online or from the court and fill it out. 

 You can also obtain forms at the Municipal Court Self Help Resource Center on the 10th Floor of 369 S. 

High St.  

 For Felonies: Franklin County Common Pleas Clerk of Courts, 345 S. High Street, Columbus, Ohio 

43215. 

 For Misdemeanors: Franklin County Municipal Court, 375 S. High Street 2nd Floor, Columbus, Ohio, 

43215.  

 File the completed application with the filing fee of $50 with the respective court.  If you cannot pay the 

fee, you can request a waiver. 

 Court staff will review your application for completeness and conduct a record check. 

 The application and related information is sent to the Prosecutor.  

 If the Prosecutor AGREES that the offender is eligible: the prosecutor and Judge sign off on the sealing 

and the record is then turned over to the Clerk of Courts where your record will be sealed.  

 If the Prosecutor DISAGREES and files an objection: a hearing is scheduled with the judge in the most 

recent case. At the hearing the judge will agree, deny, or allow the sealing. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

How to Contact LASC 

Request Services Online at www.columbuslegalaid.org 

LASC does not discriminate against any person on the basis of race, color, national origin,   disability, or age in ad-
mission, treatment, or participation in its programs, services and activities, or in employment.  

FRANKLIN & MADISON 

Call (614) 241-2001 or Toll Free 1-888-246-4420 

1108 City Park Avenue, Columbus, OH 43206 

Office Hours: 8:30am-5:00pm Monday-Friday 

DELAWARE, MARION, MORROW, & UNION 

Call (740) 383-2161 or Toll Free 1-888-301-2411 

150 Oak Street, Marion, OH 43302 

Office Hours: 9:00am-5:00pm Monday-Friday 

NEED HELP? 

Our next clinic is on Tuesday, December 13th, 5:15 PM, and you 

can participate by phone!  

SOUTHEASTERN OHIO RESIDENTS, Call 1-800-589-5888 


