Support Order Termination
Under current Ohio law, the age of majority is 18 years of age. The duty of a parent to pay support under an administrative child support order can continue beyond the age of 18 if the child continuously attends, on a full-time basis, any recognized and accredited high school. The support order shall terminate, however, in the latter case once the child reaches the age of 19.
The above mentioned parameters apply also to judicial child support orders except that such orders may be written to require payment of support to continue beyond age 19.
When agency records indicate that your child will become 18 years of age on a certain date this could result in the termination of support for this child unless he or she attends high school on a full-time basis or your order states that support will continue past the age of 19.
Termination of the order does not cancel the CSEA's authority to collect overdue or unpaid support on behalf of the obligee or the Ohio Department of Job and Family Services. It does mean, however, that the regular or current support obligation will cease.
Once the agency initiates the termination and/or emancipation process on an order, Ohio's Child Support Payment Central (OCSPC) may need to hold all support payments received for the child who is terminating from the order. You can expect to receive a notification as to when this impound on funds would begin.
Prior to the child's eighteenth birthday, an emancipation notice will be mailed to both the custodial and non-custodial parent of the child. The CSEA's default emancipation date is the child's eighteenth birthday. If the child is still attending school on a full-time basis, the obligee must return a School Enrollment Verification Form completed and signed by a school official so that the agency can verify the child's school status.
If the CSEA issues a recommendation to terminate a support order, both parties then have thirty (30) days in which to review the recommendation and decide if they want to object by requesting an administrative hearing. If neither party objects, the agency recommendation will be adopted as a final order. If an administrative hearing is requested a CSEA attorney (the Hearing Officer) will conduct the hearing and issue a written decision. Once the hearing decision is issued, both parties again have thirty days to review the decision and determine if they want to object by requesting a court hearing. If there is no objection, the hearing decision will be adopted as a final order. If a court hearing is requested, the CSEA will forward the objection to the court. The court will schedule an objection hearing, and a court magistrate will make the final decision.
If the parents on the case wish to agree to the projected date of emancipation and to the amount of arrearage owed, if any, on the case, they can contact the agency to request an agreed termination entry. Taking this action will speed up the support order termination process by permitting us to waive the statutory objection time frames outlined above.
After your termination order has been issued, parents with other minor children covered by the support order may request a modification review for adjustment of that order to assure that they are receiving/paying the correct amount under Ohio's Child Support Guidelines.
Board of Commissioners Agencies
- Animal Care & Control
- Benefits & Risk Management
- Child Support Enforcement
- Economic Development
- Fleet Management
- Homeland Security
& Justice Programs
- Human Resources